Their Lovin, My Oven

My Journey as a Gestational Surrogate

The Big Day! April 17, 2011

Yay for transfer day!

The embryo transfer was on Wednesday 4/13. Lucky # 13 anyone? ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  Our awesome friends and my Mom babysat the girls so that Jake and I could head down to Thousand Oaks. Fellow surros had told me that green and yellow were good luck colors for the IVF transfer, so, pretty much everyone we knew was decked out in at least one of those colors ๐Ÿ™‚

We got to Fertility and Surgical Associates of CA at 12:45pm for our 1:30pm transfer appointment. My case manager from Fertility Miracles, Elena, met us there for support. ๐Ÿ™‚

All decked out in green when we first arrived ๐Ÿ™‚

Hubby & I in the waiting room. His shirt says "You Removed my WHAT?!" LOL

ย 
Very shortly after we arrived, we were called back into the procedure room. The nurse went over whatย I could expect, my discharge instructions, and lab slips to take to my local lab for blood work this coming week. Once we were finished speaking, I got “dressed” in my transfer gear. I still got to wear my green shirt, and I put on my lucky rainbow socks (that of course had green and yellow) ๐Ÿ™‚
ย 

My "styling" hospital gown and AWESOME socks ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 
Once I had taken my valium (a muscle relaxer to make sure all the poking and prodding didn’t upset my uterus) the embryologist came in and showed us the photos of Esteban & Michele’s little bambino! They had fertilized 5 and chose the best one to be implanted. Had the quality not been the best, the doctor would have implanted more than one embryo, but, the quality was the best it possibly could be! ๐Ÿ™‚ The transfer only took a few minutes. Once it was done, we got to see a beautiful picture of E & Ms baby. It took everything I had not to cry. It’s just such a wonderful miracle happening and I’m so excited for E & M.
ย 
And now? Now we wait. I have a blood test scheduled for Saturday the 23rd. It will be the official pregnancy test. Other surros on All About Surrogacy (an amazing website forum for surrogates and IPs) have said they’ve gotten positive home pregnancy tests (HPTs) as early as 5 days past a 5 day transfer (5dp5dt.) I’m going to take a test tomorrow morning and we’ll see what it says. If it’s negative, I’m convinced it’s just too early. But, with all the prayers and good thoughts that we have not only from the USA, but from Italy as well, I just know that E & Ms bambino is completely snuggled up in Hotel Bambino for the next 9 months.
ย 
If everyone can keep up their prayers, we would really appreciate it! I’ll leave you with a wonderful picture of the bambino. The bright white spot is the amazing little angel that we’ll all get to meet in January 2012! ๐Ÿ™‚
ย 

E & Ms bambino. The bright white spot in the middle of the black circle ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 
ย 
ย 
ย 
 

One Response to “The Big Day!”

  1. bumpfairy Says:

    Super sticky thoughts for you!!!


Leave a Reply

