Their Lovin, My Oven

My Journey as a Gestational Surrogate

Like Winning the SuperBowl December 10, 2011

I feel like we’ve won the SuperBowl. The Daytona 500. The US Open. The Olympics. You get the picture, right?

All along my personal goal has been to bake these precious little boys until at least 37 weeks. So many people said I couldn’t do it. I’m only 5 feet tall and that’s a long time to carry not one, but two sweet babies. But I showed them. Here we are. 37 weeks and 1 day. I’m so proud of my body. *Celebration Dance*

37 weeks is an accomplishment for any pregnancy but with a singleton at this point most people are still expecting a few weeks left. I delivered my own children at 39 weeks & 40 weeks, 1 day. I went into labor several times before “the big day” but always wanted them to stay put just a little longer so I knew they would be big and strong. When you’re carrying around two babies who have a combined weight of approximately 13 pounds, 37 weeks takes on a whole new meaning.

 

It hasn’t been easy. I would NEVER pretend to know what it’s like if I hadn’t been here. I never knew how much of a toll two babies takes on your body until now. I’m very ready to be done and SO happy to know that the boys are considered “more than” full term for mono/di twins and will be healthy whenever they decide their birthday should be. Even with as much as my back hurts or as many times as I have to get up to go to the bathroom or as swollen as my feet are, I’m just relaxing and taking it easy – If the boys want to stay at the Bambino Hotel for the next 9 days until it closes, they are more than welcome to do so.

My IFs have been amazing – They are anxiously awaiting the arrival of their sons. They check in on me constantly and keep telling me how wonderful I am. I really don’t think I’m all that special – I’m just doing everything I can to make sure their angels arrive into this world healthy and happy. Their nervous excitement is SO adorable. I remember being there and anticipating the birth of my first child. It’s a feeling unlike any other and indescribable with words. Each day that we get closer to “eviction day” makes me so excited to see them holding their children. I know it’s going to be the most amazing moment EVER. 9 days and counting.

 

Thank you so much to all of my friends, family and surrosisters for constantly checking up on me and making sure I’m okay. I’m hanging in there and can’t wait to post my birth story and pictures of my sweet surrobabes.

 

Until next time – Lots of love from Danielle & the (fully baked) Bambinos ❤

 

One Response to “Like Winning the SuperBowl”

  1. Tina Says:

    I’m so proud of you! Coming from a two time twin carrier your kicking ass! Happy to be your fellow surro sister and friend:) wish I was there to help you


Leave a Reply

